Via Dolorosa Tours

6 reviews

The Via Dolorosa is the path within the Old City of Jerusalem that Jesus is said to have took carrying the cross to his crucifixion. Known in Catholicism as the Stations of the Cross, the entire path is marked on the streets and major landmarks it passes through in order for pilgrims to retrace.

Although the path has changed several times over the course of history, today the main route is taken with 14 stations along the way, as it was done by early Byzantine pilgrims.

Practical Info

The path of Via Dolorosa takes place in the Old City of Jerusalem, beginning near the Lion’s Gate near the Muslim Quarter, covering about .31 miles (500 meters), passing through Gethsemene and Mount Zion, eventually leading into the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, where it is believed Jesus ascended to heaven.

Although many pilgrims use the path as a place of prayer, because of the heavy traffic of tourists it is a difficult task.

For a more insightful experience, a weekly procession led by Franciscans is held every Friday at 3pm, the estimated time Jesus walked the path, giving you the most detailed account of the happenning. It begins at the Pilgrim’s Reception Center near by the Lion’s Gate.

Address: Begins at Herod's Palace at Jaffa Gate, Jerusalem, Israel
Admission: Free
Read More

20 Tours & Activities to Experience

Clear all
Select Dates
Sort by:Default

Having trouble booking online?
(888) 651-9785
Call (888) 651-9785