First established in 1448, Queens' College is one of Cambridge University’s oldest colleges, taking its name from founders Queen Margaret and Queen Elizabeth (the Queens of Henry VI and Edward IV respectively). With its grand medieval buildings and prime waterfront location on the banks of the River Cam, it’s a striking and highly photogenic site, making it a popular choice for visitors to the city.
A number of areas at Queens’ College are open to the public and visitors can explore the Old Hall, Chapel and cloisters, and see the President's Lodge, the oldest building on campus. Perhaps the most famous landmark of the Queens’ College is the Mathematical Bridge, a historic wooden footbridge that runs over the River Cam and connects the college buildings on the river’s east and west banks. Built by William Etheridge in 1748, the unique bridge is a remarkable feat of engineering, leading to the popular (but false) legend that it was built by Cambridge University alumnus Isaac Newton – who actually died years before it was built.
Queens' College is located just south of King’s College on the banks of the River Cam, in central Cambridge. The college is open to visitors daily from 10am- 4pm, except during study periods, and adult admission is £3 (children under 10 go free).