One of Barbados’s oldest church sites, the St. John’s Parish Church has experienced a tumultuous history, having been damaged by fires and hurricanes and rebuilt multiple times since it was originally established in 1645. The current incarnation was completed in 1836, while the chancel was added some years later. It was constructed in the Gothic style, and its dramatic location offers spectacular views of the rugged, windswept eastern shore of Barbados. Notable attractions include the grave of Ferdinand Paleologus, a descendant of the Emperor Constantine, and a sculpture by British sculptor Richard Westmacott near the front doors, and one of only two sundials on the island.
St John's Parish Church sits among the plantation lands on the rugged eastern side of Barbados. It’s a 25 minute drive from Bridegtown, and visitors can stop by anytime to explore the church and enjoy the view.